Monthly Wrap-Up: April and May 2017

Just like my previous book haul, Book Haul: April and May 2017, I’ll also be including this month of April with May for Shelf of a Bookworm‘s first monthly wrap-up! So is this a bi-monthly wrap-up? Yes, you may call it that.

April

As another summer break arrived, I told myself that I must start reading my unread books that have been sitting untouched in my bookshelf for what feels like years and years ago. I had the same goal during my summer in 2016, but sadly I failed because I couldn’t stop reading comics online. I may or may not regret it though. However, for this summer 2017, I was really proud of myself that I was able to step up and start planning and reading books as much as I can. Here are the list of books that I’ve read during this year’s month of April:

  • The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson & The Olympians, #2) by Rick Riordan | My Rating: ★★★★★ or 5 out of 5
  • The Titan’s Curse (Percy Jackson & The Olympians, #3) by Rick Riordan | My Rating: ★★★★★ or 5 out of 5
  • The Battle of the Labyrinth (Percy Jackson & The Olympians, #4) by Rick Riordan | My Rating: ★★★★★ or 5 out of 5
  • The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson & The Olympians, #5) by Rick Riordan | My Rating: ★★★★★ or 5 out of 5
  • The Lost Hero (The Heroes of Olympus, #1) by Rick Riordan | My Rating: ★★★★★ or 5 out of 5
  • All-New, All-Different Avengers #2 by Mark Waid | My Rating: ★★★☆☆ or 3 out of 5
  • Inhumans vs. X-Men #0 by Charles Soule | My Rating: ★★★☆☆ or 3 out of 5
  • Death of X by Jeff Lemire, Charles Soule | My Rating: ★★★★☆ or 4 out of 5

I decided to finally continue my journey in reading Rick Riordan’s books, and I honestly feel so guilty for stopping after The Lightning Thief a few years ago because his books are absolutely amazing, and it’s better to be late than never, right?

I also gave time for a few Marvel comics because I missed how addicted I was when I used to read them all day and night; unfortunately, I was a little disappointed because most of the new Marvel comics don’t seem to catch my interest nowadays, which led me to a “comic book reading slump”, but at the same time this gave me an advantage to focus on reading more novels.

May

May 2017 is my favorite month of the year so far because a lot of great things have happened. I finally created Shelf of a Bookworm on May 4, 2017 (May the 4th be with you!), and now that it has been almost a month since I joined the book blog community, I have to say that it feels so great to be here.

Here are the following books I’ve read for this month:

  • The Son of Neptune (The Heroes of Olympus, #2) by Rick Riordan | My Rating: ★★★★★ or 5 out of 5
  • Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon | My Rating: ★★☆☆☆ or 2 out of 5 | My Book Review
  • Wonder Woman: Rebirth #1 Special Edition by Greg Rucka | My Rating: ★★★☆☆ or 3 out of 5
  • Secret Empire by Nick Spencer | My Rating: ★★☆☆☆ or 2 out of 5
  • Halloween Comic Fest 2016: The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl by Ryan North, Erica Henderson | My Rating: ★★★★☆ or 4 out of 5
  • The Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 1: The Faust Act by Kieron Gillen | My Rating: ★★★★☆ or 4 out of 5 | My Book Review
  • All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven | My Rating: ★★★★☆ or 4 out of 5 | My Book Review
  • Sad Girls by Lang Leav | My Rating: ★★★★☆ or 4 out of 5 | My Book Review
  • One S’more Summer by Beth Merlin | My Rating: ★★★★★ or 4 out of 5 | My Book Review

During my first month as a book blogger, I was able to write five book reviews (as you can see the links among the list above) which, for me, is a good achievement. I was also able to post my first book haul, Book Haul: April and May 2017, and my first book tag, Zombie Apocalypse Book Tag!

On May 6, 2017, my parents took me to the main branch of Fully Booked in Bonifacio Global City for the annual Free Comic Book Day! Sadly, I wasn’t able to write about it because I was still starting out with this blog, but here are the comic books that I hoarded during this fun experience:

Free Comic Books of Choice

  • Wonder Woman: Rebirth #1 Special Edition by Greg Rucka
  • Secret Empire by Nick Spencer
  • Halloween Comic Fest 2016: The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl by Ryan North, Erica Henderson
  • All-New Guardians of the Galaxy by Gerry Duggan
  • Betty & Veronica by Adam Hughes
  • Buffy: The High School Years by Kel McDonald

We were given the chance to pick three free comic books, but bringing my parents along gave me the advantage of grabbing more of them, which is why I was able to get six. For the other three, I decided to give them away to one of my cousins as a gift.

Bought Comic Books of Choice

I didn’t buy much comic books during the event, but I was happy and satisfied that there were available issues of Mariko Tamaki’s Hulk. After reading the first issue last time, I wanted more because the story seemed very interesting, so later on I bought the second, third, fourth, and fifth issue.

Goodreads Reading Challenge 2017

For 2017, I challenged myself to read a hundred books. I would have increased it to 200 just like my challenge back in 2016, but since I’m trying to catch up and spend more time in reading novels instead of graphic novels, I decreased to 100. Here is my progress so far:

Untitled

I’m 14 books behind schedule. This is a bit pressuring.

tumblr_lvfh0yxore1qfggsro1_500

But a challenge is a challenge. This is what I wanted to do in the first place.

tumblr_ogfyctZW3K1tb8iyko3_500

Thus ends Shelf of a Bookworm‘s first monthly wrap-up! What about you? Did you see a book or two among the lists that looked very much familiar to you? Have you read any of these books? If not, did something give you the interest to add some of these books in your bookshelves? Are you in a reading challenge? Whatever it is, let me know by leaving a comment below! I would love to read your thoughts.

If you want, you may follow me on Twitter and add me on Goodreads.

Credits go to Goodreads for the book cover images.

Thank you!

Love, Ysabel

6 Comments

  1. Great wrap-up! I also loved PJO, an all-time favorite for me. So many cool comic books here! I can’t wait for the new Kate Bishop issue (it’s coming out this June). She’s my favorite Marvel superhero. ❤ Anyhoo, have a nice June!

    anna | annaish

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 😀 Kate Bishop is an amazing character! I’m glad she got to have her own comic series. 😌 Have a nice June as well! ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

